What’s In A Name? Part II – The Difficult Second Album

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

Aren’t most blogs abandoned in the Digital wastelands anyway? All those flashes of brilliance and urges to get creative and show the world what you’ve got to say, only to realise that when there’ billions of others with something to say, it’s not easy to get heard and very quickly, the enthusiasm drains until all that remains is a few megabytes of abandoned in a Data Centre somewhere very unglamorous, mirroring how older relatives get shipped off to retirement homes when they become a bit too much like hard work..

On the very unlikely possibility that you’ve already stumbled across this blog before and you’re eagle-eyed, you might have noticed another name change. There isn’t a Prince-like back-story of creative differences or some intriguing story of copyright infringement by some faceless corporation picking on the little guy. No, this is currently a one-man-band operation and the name change is more reflective in a ‘name-not-already-taken’ kind of way, of the stage in life I am and the direction that the blog is going to take. There will certainly be the same commentary on current affairs but it may evolve into something more – and that’s the point – stepping in the unknown, full of trepidation at what may await.

Of course, in the unlikely event it starts to become a haven for cat photos and cake recipes, don’t be too surprised if you see a further name change and update of theme to something suitably soothing and inoffensively pastel. Insider knowledge tip – I wouldn’t hold your breath.

A lot has happened since I last put fingers to keys on the blog but while I’ve not been updating this, I have still written a little and just kept it in Word, so maybe if it remains relevant, some of that can be dusted off, given a polish and a moment to bask in the glory of being published to the world – and almost universally ignored. That’s fine with me if that turns out to be the case. I write because I enjoy it and when I’ve written before, I’ve had really kind, positive comments from people who have been touched my my writing – and it’s that rather than accolades, ‘Likes’ or ‘Favs’ that drive me on.

That’ll do for now. More soon 🙂

Leave a comment